International Department of the CPC Central Committee       BEIJING REVIEW
Special Issue on Promoting Common Prosperity Amid High-Quality Development       MONTHLY
Xi Jinping on Common Prosperity
 

Chinese President Xi Jinping, also General Secretary of the Communist Party of China Central Committee and Chairman of the Central Military Commission, talks to local Tibetan residents while visiting a village of Shaliuhe Township in Gangcha County of Haibei Tibetan Autonomous Prefecture, northwest China's Qinghai Province, on June 8, 2021 (XINHUA) 

President Xi Jinping stressed efforts to promote common prosperity in the pursuit of high-quality development and coordinate work on forestalling major financial risks. Xi, also General Secretary of the Communist Party of China Central Committee and Chairman of the Central Military Commission, made his remarks at the 10th meeting of the Central Committee for Financial and Economic Affairs. Edited excerpts of Xi's speeches on common prosperity follow:

Why is common prosperity emphasized?

Common prosperity is an essential requirement of socialism and a key feature of Chinese-style modernization. The Communist Party of China and the Chinese Government should adhere to the people-centered and high-quality development model in order to realize common prosperity.

——At the 10th meeting of the Central Committee for Financial and Economic Affairs, on August 17, 2021

"The way to govern the country starts with enriching the people." We always stand firm on the people's position, emphasizing that eradicating poverty, improving people's livelihoods, and achieving common prosperity are the essential requirements of socialism. It is an important manifestation of our Party's fundamental purpose to serve the people wholeheartedly. This is the government's greatest responsibility.

——At a gathering to mark China’s poverty alleviation accomplishments and honor model poverty fighters, on February 25, 2021

Common prosperity is in itself an important goal of socialist modernization. We must adhere to a people-centered development philosophy and make active efforts to resolve issues, including the regional development gap, the urban-rural gap and the income gap, to ensure tangible changes and benefits for all.

——During an inspection trip to southwest China's Guizhou Province, on February 5, 2021

The realization of common prosperity concerns not only the economy, but is also a major political problem related to the Party's ruling base. We need to take into account what is needed and what is possible, and make gradual progress in accordance with the laws of economic and social development. We need to take the initiative to address the existing gaps between regions, urban and rural areas, and incomes, so that our people will possess a greater sense of fulfillment, happiness, and security.

——During the opening of a study session at the Party School of the Communist Party of China Central Committee attended by provincial and ministerial-level officials, on January 11, 2021

How to promote common prosperity?

On the journey ahead, we must rely closely on the people to create history. Upholding the Party's fundamental purpose of wholeheartedly serving the people, we will stand firmly with the people, implement the Party's mass line, respect the people's creativity, and practice a people-centered philosophy of development. We will develop a whole-process people's democracy, safeguard social fairness and justice, and resolve the imbalances and inadequacies in development and the most pressing difficulties and problems that are of great concern to the people. In doing so, we will make more notable and substantive progress toward achieving well-rounded human development and common prosperity for all.

——At a ceremony marking the centenary of the Communist Party of China, on July 1, 2021

We must always put the people first, rely closely on them, constantly bring benefits to them, and make solid progress in promoting common prosperity. We need to take effective measures to implement a people-centered development philosophy, and work out coordinated solutions to issues such as employment, income distribution, education, social security, medical care, housing, elderly care, childcare, food safety, and public security. We need to properly balance the relationship between ecology and people's wellbeing, and ensure that ecological protection and the people's happiness are enhanced in harmony.

——At a meeting on the work reports of the provincial Party committee and government of Qinghai, on June 9, 2021

We should give full play to the role of community-level Party organizations and Party members and cadres, implement primary-level governance approaches and improve such village-level governance, and unite and lead the people toward the goal of common prosperity.

——During an inspection trip to the city of Nanyang in Henan Province, on May 13, 2021

The comprehensive implementation of the rural revitalization strategy is no less difficult than poverty alleviation in depth, breadth, and difficulty. There must not be any ideas of breathing and resting. We must continue to struggle from a new starting point and promote the common prosperity of all people to achieve more obvious and substantial progress.

——During an inspection trip in south China's Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, on April 25,2021

Chinese President Xi Jinping, also General Secretary of the Communist Party of China Central Committee and Chairman of the Central Military Commission, conducts field research on local efforts in advancing rural vitalization on all fronts while visiting a village in Suide, a county under the city of Yulin in northwest China’s Shaanxi Province, on September 14, 2021 (XINHUA)

Conducting collaboration and paired assistance between the eastern and western regions is a major decision on the part of the CPC Central Committee to promote coordinated regional development and common prosperity. In response to changes in the conditions and tasks, we should carry forward the momentum of poverty elimination to accelerate the modernization of agriculture and rural areas, promote rural vitalization in an all-round way, and deepen the collaboration and paired assistance between the eastern and western regions.

——During an instruction on the work related to the collaboration and paired assistance between the eastern and western regions of the country, on April 8, 2021

We must fully implement the Party's theories and policies concerning ethnic groups and religions, promote educational programs on ethnic unity and progress, and speed up development in ethnic minority areas. We need to serve the needs and solve problems for people of all ethnic groups. We need to promote common prosperity and unity among people of all ethnic groups to build a better homeland together.

——During the deliberation of Qinghai delegation at the fourth session of the 13th National People's Congress, on March 7, 2021

We should educate and guide the Party to deeply comprehend its nature and aim. We should adhere to the idea that everything we do, we do it for the people; we depend on the people for everything. We must always put the people at the center of our hearts and minds; make the people's aspirations for a better life the goal of our struggle, and progress the fruits of reform and development to create greater and more equitable benefits for everyone. We must unite the 1.4 billion Chinese people into a majestic and boundless force driving the great rejuvenation of the Chinese nation.

——At a mobilization meeting of the Party history learning and education campaign, on February 20, 2021

We need to pay close attention to the implementation of the CPC Central Committee's policy of benefiting and enriching the people and promoting common prosperity, and continue to correct corruption and misconduct in education, medical care, old-age security, poverty alleviation, and environmental protection. We need to address the people’s urgent problems and worries, and ensure that they receive fairness and justice.

——At the fifth plenary session of the 19th CPC Central Commission for Discipline Inspection, on January 22, 2021

China
Opinion
World
Business
Lifestyle
Video
Multimedia
ChinAfrica
China Focus
Documents
Special Reports
 
About Us
Contact Us
Advertise with Us
Subscribe
Partners: China.org.cn   |   China Today   |   China Pictorial   |   People's Daily Online   |   Women of China   |   Xinhua News Agency   |   China Daily
CGTN   |   China Tibet Online   |   China Radio International   |   Global Times   |   Qiushi Journal
Copyright Beijing Review All rights reserved 京ICP备08005356号 京公网安备110102005860