The Hot Zone
China's newly announced air defense identification zone over the East China Sea aims to shore up national security
Current Issue
· Table of Contents
· Editor's Desk
· Previous Issues
· Subscribe to Mag
Subscribe Now >>
Weekly Watch
Expert's View
Market Watch
North American Report
Government Documents
Expat's Eye
Photo Gallery
Reader's Service
Learning with
'Beijing Review'
E-mail us
RSS Feeds
PDF Edition
Reader's Letters
Make Beijing Review your homepage
Hot Links

cheap eyeglasses
Market Avenue

Special> NPC & CPPCC Sessions 2013> News
UPDATED: March 15, 2013
Foreign Leaders Congratulate Xi on Election as Chinese President

Foreign leaders sent congratulatory messages Thursday to Xi Jinping on his election as the new Chinese president.

According to the Chinese Foreign Ministry, the leaders who have offered congratulations included Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari; Namibian President Hifikepunye Pohamba; top leader of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), Kim Jong Un; Vietnamese President Truong Tan Sang; President of Laos Choummaly Sayasone; Spanish King Juan Carlos I; Japanese Emperor Akihito and South Korean President Park Geun-hye.

The leaders who have sent congratulatory messages also included Bangladeshi President Zillur Rahman; Singaporean President Tony Tan Keng Yam; Zambian President Michael Sata; Nigerien President Mahamadou Issoufou; Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos; Cypriot President Nikos Anastasiades; Hungarian President Janos Ader; Ukrainian President Victor Yanukovych; Kim Yong Nam, chairman of the Presidium of the Supreme People's Assembly of the DPRK; Singaporean Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe.

Xi, General Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China (CPC), was elected state president of China and chairman of China's Central Military Commission at the plenary meeting of the first session of the 12th National People's Congress (NPC), the country's top legislature, on March 14.

Foreign leaders also sent congratulatory messages to Zhang Dejiang on his election as chairman of the NPC Standing Committee, Yu Zhengsheng on his election as chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), and Li Yuanchao on his election as China's vice president.

Zhang was elected chairman of the 12th NPC Standing Committee at the NPC plenary meeting on March 14 .

Yu was elected chairman of the CPPCC, the top political advisory body, at the fourth plenary meeting of the first session of the 12th CPPCC National Committee on March 11.

Li was elected vice president of China at the NPC plenary meeting on March 14.

(Xinhua News Agency March 14, 2013)

Top Story
-Protecting Ocean Rights
-Partners in Defense
-Fighting HIV+'s Stigma
-HIV: Privacy VS. Protection
-Setting the Tone
Most Popular
About BEIJINGREVIEW | About beijingreview.com | Rss Feeds | Contact us | Advertising | Subscribe & Service | Make Beijing Review your homepage
Copyright Beijing Review All right reserved